First Time for Everything

photo(7)

In yoga teacher training, one of my wonderful teachers, Geri, talked about the joy and responsibility that being someone’s first yoga teacher brings. She said that if we share the practice confidently with new students by offering our enthusiasm and support, they may come back for more.

Yesterday, I taught a class at Yogaview in Chicago and had the privilege of leading someone through his very first yoga class. Honestly, I was scared. I was worried that he might not like the class and I didn’t want be responsible if his first yoga class was also his last.

So, I tried channel Geri’s wisdom and share my excitement and love of yoga. I want to remember this experience because I think it is important to teach every class with that same energy and dedication.

In case you are wondering, my new student did amazing and seemed to enjoy the class. I can only hope he will be back for more.

2 thoughts on “First Time for Everything

Leave a Reply

